African Unity: DR Congo joined the Eastern African Community

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has officially joined the Eastern African Community (EAC) on Tuesday, March 29. This was sealed during the recent virtual meeting of the Heads of States meeting of the EAC.

With the admission, the DRC has become the seventh member country to join the regional bloc alongside Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

As a member, the country stands to benefit from the bloc in terms of security, trade tariff, smooth flow of business activities among many other diplomatic benefits.

In attendance for the summit were President Yoweri Museveni of Uganda, President Paul Kagame of Rwanda, President Samia Suluhu Hassan of Tanzania, Vice President of Prosper Bagombanza of Burundi, President Felix Tshisekendi of DRC and Dr. Barnaba Marial Benjamin of South Sudan, who is a Minister in the office of the President.

Buy Me A Coffee

President Uhuru Kenyatta who chaired the summit stated that DRC joining the EAC is a great milestone that will help the economy of the region.

Commenting on the new membership, Kenyatta said “Today, 29th, is a historic day in the history of the EAC as we admit the DRC into the EAC. We have already considered and agreed in our closed session and the Summit has taken the decision to admit the DRC into the EAC. The admission of the DRC into DRC is historic not only for our countries but our continent at large.”

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp