Nigeria bans flights from Canada, UK and Saudi Arabi

Nigeria’s Aviation minister, Captain Hadi Sirika has announced that, the country has banned flights from United Kingdom, Canada and Saudi Arabia with effect from Tuesday, December 14.

The decision was taken to reciprocate an earlier action taken by the authorities of those countries to ban Nigeria following the discovery of the omicron variant by South African scientists, a move considered “unfair” towards Nigeria.

In the recent announcement, the minister stressed that, the above-mentioned countries will equally be placed on red list. “We have given our input that it is not acceptable by us and we recommended that those Canada, the UK, Saudi Arabia and Argentina also be put on the red list,” the minister said.

Sirika added that, “as they did to us, if they do not allow our citizens into their countries; who are they coming, as airlines, to pick from our country?”

“They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19.’’ he said.

The minister however apologized for inconveniences to Nigerians who have the intentions of travelling to any of those countries placed in the red list. He said that, the decision was in the interest of Nigeria.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp