Seven African countries to start COVID-19 antibody testing – CDC

The current head of Africa Centre for Disease Control and Prevention disclosed during a weekly briefing on Thursday, August 13th, that seven countries would soon commence the planned COVID-19 antibody testing in Africa.

According to Dr. John Nkengasong, “Liberia, Sierra Leone, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Nigeria, Morocco are the first set of countries that committed to it.” The CDC will start rolling out the testing from next week.

The African Union established health body added that the continent has as at the time of the briefing conducted 9.4million tests out of the ten million total testing target set for member states.

According to the briefing, the said testing is “part of efforts to understand the extent of the outbreak on the continent.” Full detail about the rollout will soon be made available to all in subsequent weekly briefings.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp